Home > Literacy Resources > Booklists > 10 Years of Newbery Winners

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Send
  • Print

10 Years of Newbery Winners

The John Newbery Medal is a literary award given by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association (ALA). The award is given to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. The award has been given since 1922. It was the first children's literary award in the world. It is named for John Newbery, an 18th century English publisher of juvenile books.


Medal Winner:
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose
The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick


Medal Winner:
The Graveyard Book written by Neil Gaiman, illustrated by Dave McKean
The Underneath written by Kathi Appelt, illustrated by David Small
The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba's Struggle for Freedom by Margarita Engle
Savvy by Ingrid Law
After Tupac & D Foster by Jacqueline Woodson


Medal Winner:
Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz 
Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis
The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt
Feathers by Jacqueline Woodson


Medal Winner:
The Higher Power of Lucky written by Susan Patron and llustrated by Matt Phelan
Penny from Heaven by Jennifer L. Holm
Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson
Rules by Cynthia Lord


Medal Winner:
Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins
Whittington by Alan Armstrong, illustrated by S.D. Schindler Hitler Youth: Growing Up in Hitler's Shadow by Susan Campbell Bartoletti
Princess Academy by Shannon Hale
Show Way by Jacqueline Woodson, illustrated by Hudson Talbott


Medal Winner:
Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata
Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko 
The Voice that Challenged a Nation: Marian Anderson and the Struggle for Equal Rights by Russell Freedman
Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt


Medal Winner:
The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread by written Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by Timothy Basil Ering

Olive's Ocean by Kevin Henkes
An American Plague: The True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1793 by Jim Murphy


Medal Winner:
Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi 
The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer
Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff
Hoot by Carl Hiaasen (Knopf)
A Corner of The Universe by Ann M. Martin
Surviving the Applewhites by Stephanie S. Tolan 


Medal Winner:
A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park
Everything on a Waffle by Polly Horvath
Carver: A Life In Poems by Marilyn Nelson


Medal Winner:
A Year Down Yonder by by Richard Peck
Hope Was Here by Joan Bauer
Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
Joey Pigza Loses Control by Jack Gantos
The Wanderer by Sharon Creech


Medal Winner:
Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis
Getting Near to Baby by by Audrey Couloumbis
Our Only May Amelia by Jennifer L. Holm
26 Fairmount Avenue by Tomie dePaola

Source: Association for Library Service to Children

10 Years of Newbery Winners